Q. What happens to my bond if I deactivate my droplet/AWS instance before deregistering my node?
A: You must use the CLI tool to destroy your node. It will not let you destroy your node until the deregistration and bond refunding process is complete. However if you have done this, your funds are safe, but you need to destroy the node using the CLI to ensure all resources are terminated correctly, your node can lose its rewards if it is offline while registered.